Cdnpearly's Blog

Pearl's musings

What to grow in my garden? March 13, 2010

Filed under: Gardening — cdnpearly @ 4:08 am
Tags: , , , ,

It’s that time again!  Garden planning/planting season!  Already in, thanks to my dad:  swiss chard, beans, carrots, heirloom tomatoes, celery and raspberry canes.

Ready to transplant from my “green houses” aka recycled plastic spinach containers: lupines, sweet peas, and more tomatoes (heirloom).

From seed, this weekend: zucchini, more beans, more carrots, beets, popcorn and sunflowers.

From six packs: more tomatoes and assorted herbs.

So, what are your garden plans?

 

5 Responses to “What to grow in my garden?”

  1. Thalia Says:

    My garden plans are immense this year! A whole new garden, half the back “lawn” which I call the Biologically Diverse Pastureland. I just can’t grow enough tomatoes, beans, zucchini, melon, gourds, kale, lettuce, garlic and beets without taking half the yard. And I hate mowing, so there you go. Also putting in a number of fruit trees to replace the ones I lost to disease last year. A new plum in the front yard, and two new apples and a mulberry going in this weekend! AND three varieties of blackberry and a raspberry are in! WHEW! Are we gonna have fruit this year, or what! Garden on, Pearl!

  2. Melissa Says:

    Love your garden plans! I’m working on planning a square foot garden to fit in the space available. I’ll be back for some pointers from you! Already using your “greenhouse” tip – thanks!

  3. Alison Says:

    I’m going to pick all your vegies when you are in Canada. That’s my plan. 🙂

  4. Lisa Says:

    I am at the end of my “winter garden” and need to pull out my now non-productive peas and bolting kale. I planted more bare root asparagus and am looking forward to getting asparagus in THREE YEARS. Yes, it takes three years to be productive, but after that it should be productive for 10+ years. I will keep you posted. As far as my “summer garden” I am planning on squash, tomatoes, beans, strawberries, herbs, melons, and whatever else looks good at the nursery! I might do a few things from seed, but I find I am not nearly as productive with seeds as compared to plants from the nursery. Happy gardening to all.
    Lisa


Leave a Reply

