Cdnpearly's Blog

Pearl's musings

So, what are you reading these days? March 18, 2010

Filed under: Books — cdnpearly @ 5:02 pm
Tags: , ,

I’m in the middle of an amazing book:  The Story of Edgar Sawtelle by David Wroblewski. http://www.edgarsawtelle.com/

It’s a fascinating story about dogs…and people. 

My daughter (aged eight) and I were discussing books on the way home from the library today.  She currently LOVES Junie B. Jones books, by Barbara Park:  http://www.randomhouse.com/kids/junieb/

As we climbed back into the car, she opened her book and sighed.  We commented on how opening a book is such a great feeling–the anticipation of the story, the experience, the escape etc.  And, conversely, how finishing a great book is “kinda sad”…although as Meg pointed out–it does mean that you get to start another new book all over again! 

So, what are you reading now?  Do you recommend it?  Why?  What’s your best thing about starting/finishing a book?  We really want to know!

 

6 Responses to “So, what are you reading these days?”

  1. Melissa Says:

    I’m re-reading The Thirteenth Tale by Diane Setterfield. I loved this book the first time I read it and luckily my book club selected it for next meeting. I get the treat of reading it again!

  2. cdnpearly Says:

    I love that book too! I’m planning on re-reading it soon also! When I finished it the first time I thought it would be worth a second look–many clues to be noted! Thanks for the comment Melissa

  3. Alison Says:

    Well, actually, Kyle is reading to me…The Lightning Thief by Rick Riordan. Cool book about a boy and his experience with the Olympian Gods.

  4. craftymamareed Says:

    “When Things Fall Apart” by Pema Chodron. An intro into Buddhist thought and practice. Loved loved loved it 🙂 Thanks for asking me Pearly. Oh by the way my sister and brother in law in WA love that I have a friend named Pearl!

  5. Lisa Says:

    Alison,
    Evan is LOVING that series too! He really caught the reading bug and it is so great to see. Jim came home the other night and caught him reading in the dining room for pleasure and that is definitely a first!
    Lisa


Leave a Reply

