Cdnpearly's Blog

Pearl's musings

It must be SPRING! April 8, 2010

It’s official!  It’s SPRING!  Sure signs of the season are:

1.  The quail have returned to our backyard!

2.  Tiny rabbits are hopping around (so far not in the garden–so they are still cute!)

3.  First sweet peas of the year.

4.  Buddy (our cockatiel) thinks it’s time to lay eggs!  Sadly she has fallen in love with Dennis and seems to be providing eggs as a sign of affection…Believe it or not, she has actually received birth control shots.  Despite all precautions, she continues to lay eggs…sigh…

Omelet anyone??

5.  The citrus trees are in blossom.  Here are the future limes!  I can almost taste the guacamole and the margaritas.  Ole!

I’m going to throw in the avocado blossoms here, even though they aren’t really citrus…see note above about guac!

Update on the allergies…I broke down and started with Nasonex.  It has been miraculous.  I don’t usually take or promote medication, but there’s a limit to suffering!  For several days now I have resumed feeling NORMAL!  Recent news reports confirm what I knew weeks ago:  2010 is a VERY bad pollen year!  DUH!

Finally, I finished Edgar Sawtelle and have now plunged into The Thirteenth Tale by Diane Setterfield http://en.wikipedia.org/wiki/The_Thirteenth_Tale .

I read it last summer and loved it then…a re-read is definitely revealing and I’m enjoying it even more.

What’s new in your world?  Thanks for all your comments!

 

4 Responses to “It must be SPRING!”

  1. Lisa Says:

    Some plants are in the garden! We started with squash, tomatoes, lettuce, peas, and spinach. We need to get a few more tomatoes, basil, and whatever else looks good a the nursery. Nina made some really cute signs identifing all our plants.

    Sorry to hear that Buddy is having raging hormones again.

    Happy gardening and reading,
    Lisa

    • cdnpearly Says:

      Congratulations Lisa! I’m going to pick up a few more tomatoes this weekend too. My seedsaving efforts from last years heirlooms are a failure! I’ll try again this summer though! I also need to get a few more herbs. Thanks for the comment!
      P

  2. Heather Says:

    Quail? Sweet peas already? Citrus trees? I live in the wrong part of the continent I think. BTW I love your flower pics. They’re beautiful.

  3. cdnpearly Says:

    Thanks Heather! I recognized that I was living in the wrong part of the continent 16 years ago! Loving it here in SoCal! Lucky me!


Leave a Reply

