Cdnpearly's Blog

Pearl's musings

Summer goals May 25, 2010

Victoria Day/Memorial Day = the official start of summer.  From this vantage point it always feels the summer stretches on forever.  And yet when Labor Day hits, I find myself wondering “where did summer go?”

So, I decided to set some goals that I hope to achieve over the next few months.  Writing them here will (hopefully) make me more accountable.  In no specific order:

1.  I will read 8 books!  I already have several lined up.  Currently reading “The Help” by Kathryn Stockett.  So far, it’s an amazing book.  My sister says she will be sad when she’s finished reading it.  High praise indeed!  Next up is “My Life in France” for my book club.  I can’t wait for the dinner that goes with this book selection!  I have saved “An Echo In The Bone” by Diana Gabaldon for summer reading.  After these 3, we’ll see what drifts across my bedside table!

2.  I will resume geocaching!  It feels like months since we’ve hunted for treasure…well, actually, it has been months!  The close of the NFL season meant that there was less incentive to get out of the house on the weekend!  However, I miss it!  And I miss my geocaching buddy.

3.  I will attempt a new recipe each week to change up the usual fare (read food rut) that I cook regularly.  Each recipe will be graded on a scale of 1-10.  Anything less than an 8 never gets made again!  I’ll share those that attain 8.5 or higher so you can all benefit from my successes!

4.  I will go to a beach at least 6 times over the summer.  Sadly I won’t be making my annual pilgrimage home to Jack’s Lake and the summer cottage (stupid economy!!!–but that’s a blog entry for another day).  In place of the Canadian Shield, I plan to enjoy summer right here in paradise.

5.  I will create 2 large or 4 small mosaic art pieces.  With pottery on hold for the summer, I want to nurture the creative element that is vital to me.  I’m delighted with the mailbox I created last summer.  However, this year I think I’ll make something less practical…we’ll see what muse inspires me!  Photos will surely follow!

6.  My garden will thrive and flourish!  AND I vow to rid the world of at least one gopher a week.  I’m up to 6 so far–sad to say it’s hardly made a dint in the gopher condo that is our yard!  😦

Well, that’s the start of my summer list.  What do you have planned?  Let’s make it a great season!

 

11 Responses to “Summer goals”

  1. kathleen Says:

    I’m hoping you’ll add. Spend quality time with your staycation friends 🙂

    Look forward to the recipes.

  2. Lisa Says:

    Wow! That is quite a list. My summer will feel like a success if I can get to the other side with my sanity relatively intact. Hope we can join you on some of your beach days!

  3. Ellen Says:

    Thanks for sharing. It’s inspiring me to think up a list too (probably about half as big as yours). I would love to hear more about your mosaic making.

  4. Emily Says:

    Well well done 🙂 Way to envision your life and make it happen. I want to be added to the beach day list too! And keep me posted on the other books you choose. Thanks for blogging. It is always a delight to read friend!

  5. Melissa Says:

    Count me in for the beach days too! And the recipes…and the mosaics…and the geocaching (buddy :-)) Maybe I’ll match you a new recipe per week. I do LOVE getting your keeper recipes – so fun.

  6. Jeff Duncan Says:

    Good stuff Cheryl. Sorry to read that you won’t be making it to Ontario this year. The bugs are the best they’ve ever been. Hardly a blackfly to be seen. Hope you enjoy your summer anyways.
    Take Care
    Jeff

    • cdnpearly Says:

      I didn’t think I could feel more sad about missing out on our summer pilgrimage, but hearing your bug update did it! 3 straight years of hideous bugs–and the first year I can’t make it home, the bugs are good. DANG! Hope to catch up with you one of these years Jeff! Thanks for your positive comments!

  7. LisaD Says:

    Hi Cheryl,
    I enjoyed reading An Echo in the Bone quite a lot. So I hate to ask but how are you getting rid of the gophers? We have mouse living under our dishwasher, we call him Rudolph, we bought some “Have-A-Heart” traps to catch him and release him in a nearby park, if we get around to it. I figure he is loving all the cheerios on the floor.
    Lisa (Montreal)

    • cdnpearly Says:

      I use the “black hole of death” for the gophers…I applaud you for the have a heart options…these gophers, they just don’t deserve that type of compassion though! Good luck with Rudolph! 🙂


Leave a Reply

