Cdnpearly's Blog

Pearl's musings

2 new recipes of the week July 4, 2010

Filed under: Chickens,cooking,Uncategorized — cdnpearly @ 12:31 pm
Tags: ,

Happy Independence Day!  Happy [belated] Canada Day!

Summer is well under way.  3 camps down, prepping for sleepover camp today, 4 more to go!

Highly productive jam week including:  kitchen sink jam (which turned out GREAT!); peach; plum; apricot; apricot/plum…a few more batches and I’m done with it for the season!

2 successful recipes of the week!  First let me introduce you to a great recipe finder website:  Supercook.  This handy site (free sign up, btw) allows you to put in the ingredients you have on hand and then searches out an appropriate recipe.  I used it to find this “recipe of the week” and it worked like a charm!  Sauteed Chicken in Mustard-Cream Sauce.  Dennis and I both liked this dish…8 year old daughter, not so much.  A couple of suggestions for the recipe:  based on several comments, I doubled the sauce recipe.  I’m glad I did, since I was able to pour it over the steamed broccoli and quinoa.  Very tasty!  Also, I thought I had plenty o’ dijon on hand.  Wrong!  So, I had to use (gulp!) French’s prepared mustard.  Even with this sub-par substitution, it still turned out really well.  Other Supercook users recommended the sauce on a variety of entrees as well as sides, btw.  Oh, and Santa Barbara locals, if you need some fresh tarragon for this recipe, let me know…I have lots!

Second recipe…I’ve been debating whether I should include this or not, as this recipe is somewhat like crack–one bite and you’re seriously addicted!  Thanks to my friend Kelly who placed this recipe on facebook with a photo!  I had to try it after seeing her results and the comments.

So, from The Pioneer Woman Blog, I give you:  Salted Caramel Brownies!

I did not use the brownie recipe.  Instead I made the ghirardellis brownie mix from Costco.  I used the full caramel recipe for an 8×8 pan which seemed a little much (I nearly slipped into a sugar coma)…So, in the future I’ll either cut the caramel recipe in half, or double the brownie recipe and put it in a 9×13 pan with the full caramel recipe.  Some observations on the caramel recipe:

1.  I did not use the gelatin (neither did Kelly).  Evidently the Pioneer Woman had sufficient comments on the gelatin that she added notes into her blog about either eliminating or drastically cutting back the gelatin.

2.  It takes longer than I thought it would to achieve the amber color.  That being said, I don’t recommend multi tasking while waiting for the amber!  Stay with it, chefs!

3.  I warmed the cream in the microwave-still worked like a charm AND it’s one less pot to wash!

4.  When adding the cream, butter and salt to the amber mixture, it steams and bubbles up madly!  So, use a tall pan and keep your head back!

5.  I didn’t have any unsalted butter, so I used regular and reduced the kosher salt slightly.

Bon appetit!

Other updates:  nothing new!

How’s your summer going?

 

One Response to “2 new recipes of the week”

  1. Kelly Says:

    Yippee!!! I’m so glad they worked out! I made them again today for our 4th of July celebration. Look much better than the first time. Thanks for my 15 mins. of fame. I’m so flattered. xo


Leave a Reply

