Cdnpearly's Blog

Pearl's musings

Summer, cont’d… July 17, 2010

Well into July already!  The heat suddenly turned on and the dreaded fog has turned off!  Fine by me!

In the meantime, the garden continues to progress…we enjoyed our first beets of 2010!

Additionally, our eggplant is flowering!  I’m not sure how long it takes from blossom to baba ghanoush (actually, I don’t make baba ghanoush, I just didn’t know names of any other traditional eggplant dishes!–for the record, I usually marinate eggplant with sesame oil and salt, then grill it!  Tasty!)

We should be enjoying zucchini soon…and lots of it, by the looks of the prolific blossoms!

And speaking of zucchini…my first recipe of the week is:  Grated Zucchini Saute from Julia Child’s The Way To Cook book. My friend Lisa served this dish at our most recent book club meeting (we were discussing My Life In France) and it was REALLY good!  Thanks for the new addition to my repertoire Lisa!

I also made a new jam–plum/rhubarb.  Any jammers out there interested in the recipe, let me know and I’ll pass it along.  I was able to get the lovely rhubarb by bartering our haas avocados on Craigslist–today I’m enjoying a massage (also bartered for avos on Craigslist!)

Still on the food and gardening tangent:  our kumquat are set!

It’s difficult to get perspective in this photo, but the fruit pictured here is about the size of an eraser on the end of a pencil! We’ll be waiting awhile before they are ready to enjoy!

In the meantime, we have been taking advantage of the bounty of our garden and our local produce…this was the bare bones of dinner one night this week!

Ripe haas, fresh cilantro,  mexican limes from our neighbor, and yellow tomatoes from our own garden…the makings of some very nice guacamole and fixin’s for grilled steak.  I love summer food!

Our Agapanthus has finally bloomed–the first time in 16 years!  It’s quite beautiful!

I’ve started a new book:  South of Broad by Pat Conroy.  And sadly, no new gopher deaths to report!  Our quail family has 4 baby chicks!  I’ll attempt to capture them with my zoom lens this week–ADORABLE!

How is your summer going?  Any good books to recommend? Recipes?

 

3 Responses to “Summer, cont’d…”

  1. Lisa Says:

    Hi Pearl,
    What are your plans for the kumquat? We have a tree in the front that is full of fruit, but I have not found one thing to do with them.
    Lisa

  2. Your Garden Says:

    Summer, cont?d?…

    I found your entry interesting do I’ve added a Trackback to it on my weblog :)…


Leave a Reply

