Cdnpearly's Blog

Pearl's musings

Great White North: Here we come! August 10, 2010

Miraculously we are going home for a quick trip before school starts again.  It’s a long story, but suffice it to say, we’re delighted to be flying north for a couple of weeks!  My next posting will be created in Canada!

In the meantime, I have a new recipe success!  It’s John’s Coffee Steak.  I cut the pepper in half and grilled it, to rave reviews!  The rub sat on the steak for several hours before Dennis cooked it–although the chef says that it can go on minutes before cooking.  We used Costco rib eye steaks.  Perfect!  Bon appetit!

Our garden is continuing to thrive…baby zucchini and eggplant are adorable! As are the tiny edomame…

I finished reading “South of Broad” .  It was an ok read…the plot seemed really dispersed.  I wasn’t really interested in the characters…however, the descriptions of Charleston were rich and colorful.  I’d probably rate this book 6.5/10.  I’m now into The Girl With The Dragon Tattoo.  It got off to a slow start, but definitely passed my “50 page test”.  I’m now hooked!

The orchid is in full bloom now…breathtaking!  And the second string of roses is starting up…
I found some interesting sage in the spring.  It’s now blooming as well…striking colors.

The dahlias are continuing…

The heirloom tomatoes are underway…here is an Arkansas Traveler.  I hope it’s ready to eat when we get back!  I can’t wait to try it!

Another gopher bit the dust this week!

Well, that’s it for now.  I’ll check in from Canada next week.  How’s your summer going? Your goals?

 

2 Responses to “Great White North: Here we come!”

  1. ellen white Says:

    Hey thanks for the fun blog. You garden looks beautiful and that steak makes my mouth water.

    I am loviin MINNONITE IN A LITTLE BLACK DRESS!!! Think it will pass your 50 page test too. Can’t wait to talk DRAGON TATOO with you.

    Enjoy Canada.

  2. Erica Says:

    Enjoy your trip! You may want to buy The Girl Who Played with Fire before you leave; I’m sure you’ll want to read that when you finish the first book!!!


Leave a Reply

