Cdnpearly's Blog

Pearl's musings

Back to “normal”–whatever that is! September 4, 2010

We’ve been back to the “land of the free and the home of the brave”  from our whirlwind trip to the Great White North for almost a week now…the after glow of the holiday is beginning to wane, but what a great trip it was!  Here are a few highlights:

The Rope Swing!Family time…The 2 week sleepover camp was a HUGE success!  She came back NOT tired, as in “Im NOT tired Mom!”  I believe she learned 50+ new camp songs and countless life skills that will reveal themselves as the year goes on.  Glen Bernard Camp is a magical place.  If you have a chance to send your daughter there, DO NOT HESITATE!  After 3 years with this beautiful spot, I can’t imagine a more perfect summer experience for girls.

While Meg was camping, I recovered from that ugly sinus infection with Cindy and Madge in Barrie.  We had a grand time…at one point I realized that I had fully relaxed–I barely recognized the state!  I also visited my parents in Tillsonburg for a couple of days.  We drove to Lake Eerie:

Mom and Dad treated us to a lovely lunch at the Green Frog cafe…tasty and pretty!

So now we’re back and into school, karate, violin, orchestra, work, groceries etc…It’s all good, right?

But, “normal” is short-lived this time, since Dennis and I are heading out on a tradeshow/conference tour Wednesday!  Mom is flying out today to stay with Meghan while we travel to Halifax and Austin!  I’m scrambling to find accommodations in Cape Breton Island as I’m unpacking/packing from the last trip!  But, it’s all good, right?  Right!  It will be a great 2 weeks for everyone…

Finally, goals update.

Books:  Finished The Interpreter of Maladies.  It is a collection of short stories (I’m not a fan of short stories) featuring [mostly] Indians living in the New England area.  It was not my favorite book… I am now immersed in The Girl Who Played With Fire.  Wow!  What a page turner!  It jumps in where The Girl With The Dragon Tattoo ends–seamlessly.  It’s dark and edgy, and a great read!

The garden fared well in my absence!  My recipe of the week is a sandwich–a BBGCHTAM!  In case you’re not familiar with the moniker I’ll explain: Bacon, Basil, Goat Cheese, Heirloom Tomato, Avocado, Mayo sandwich.  It is divine–you must try it.  Here is a photo of it in process:That wraps it up from here today.  How is your “back to normal” routine going?

 

One Response to “Back to “normal”–whatever that is!”

  1. Dianne Says:

    Oh my goodness. I’m so obsessed with goat cheese anything these days. I’ll have to try the bbgchtam!! Lol


Leave a Reply

