Cdnpearly's Blog

Pearl's musings

Food and books… October 24, 2010

It seems months since our trip to Austin, yet it’s only been 5 weeks.  The afterglow of the holidays has worn off a little and I find myself smack in the middle of reality!  Hence, no postings for a while!  I have had several successful recipes that I’d like to pass along–sorry no photos.

1.  Asian Spatchcock chicken.  I created this one myself.  It’s divine!  First, spatchcock the chicken and place in a baking pan with raised edges (to collect all the tasty au jus).  Then spread sesame oil over the chicken.  Sprinkle powdered ginger and red chili flakes (not too many of these bad boys if you’re precious like me).  Throw it in the oven at 400°F for about an hour.  Check the internal temperature with a meat thermometer.  Let chicky sit on a plate to regroup while you make the sauce.  I pour all the lovely au jus and drippings from the baking pan into a small saucepan.  Let it sit for a few minutes to allow the fat to rise to the top.  Carefully spoon off as much of it as possible.  I crank the element to high and pour in a “glug” of white wine, or maybe 2.  Add some grated fresh ginger and  toss in some finely chopped lemon grass.  Reduce it a little while.  In the mean time, slice the chicken and set the table.  By now the sauce is perfect!  It’s tasty on chicken and sides!

2.  Spaghetti with turkey meatballs and a quick tomato sauce.  I made this last week.  It’s exactly what the title suggests.  I am not an accurate measurer–so I just used the quantity of ground turkey that comes in the Von’s turkey packages.  Also, I didn’t have a turkey sausage on hand, so I used a sweet italian one instead.  It was quick and it was tasty.  AND I had enough meatballs left over for several lunches.  I recommend it!

3.  High Temperature Eye-of-Round Roast.  We had this for dinner tonight.  I must say it’s one of the craziest and easiest recipes I have encountered.  Even if you can’t cook, YOU CAN MAKE THIS RECIPE!  It doesn’t seem like it should work, but 590 cooks have reviewed this recipe with VERY high praise. What the heck!  Give it a shot, right?  So, the whole roast beef was eaten in 20 minutes flat!  I’ll call it a success!  Oh, and I used a 1.5 pound rump roast.  I only cooked it on the high temp for 10 minutes.  And took it out of the oven after 2 hours.  Otherwise, I followed the recipe exactly.  The only drawback:  very little au jus–we’re a big au jus family in case you didn’t notice!

So, that wraps the cooking portion of the post.  Books…I am reading my new favorite book:  Bel Canto by Ann Patchett.  In fact I’m savouring it rather than reading it.  I plan on reading more by this author!

Other activities:  my dad had heart surgery 10 days ago.  He came through it just fine…better than fine actually.  He left the hospital one day ahead of schedule!  Now he’s learning about cooking/eating without salt.

It’s almost Halloween!  This means costumes, pumpkins, candy, and of course, ghosting.  We have been a recipient and a perpetrator already this season!  I created a ghost letter, so if you need one, let me know and I’ll forward it should you decide to embark on this fun tradition.

Speaking of candy…here’s a quick poll to complete…

Over and out!

 

2 Responses to “Food and books…”

  1. very interesting blog,i enjoyed it so much i have bookmarked it and look forward to your updates..keep up the good work

  2. I really like the images on your site. I love how Halloween just brings out peoples imagination.


Leave a Reply

