Cdnpearly's Blog

Pearl's musings

Do you geocache? November 12, 2010

Hide and seek…for adults, for children.  It’s all good, right?  My friend–“Prepared Girl” turned me on to this fun sport 18 months ago.  I was intrigued!  So, I jumped in–researched a gps and joined geocaching.com.  My “handle” is Canadianpearly, btw.  If you decide to launch in, we can be friends!

I have the garmin GPSmap60CSx–it’s the model that was recommended on the geocaching site.  Prepared Girl has a gps that’s designed for driving.

Here is our system:

1.  Plan the date/time

2.  Call each other–both on the geocaching website simultaneously.

3.  Decide on the location (you can enter in the zip code/postal code, or look at a google map on the website)

4.  Enter all coordinates in our respective gps’s.  We find it most effective to have 2 different satellite tracking devices to narrow down the cache.

5.  Gather loot to drop off in the various caches.

6.  Print off cache pages.

7.  Start!

8.  Fun ensues!

9.  Enter cache results on geocaching.com

But perhaps I am jumping ahead…for the uninitiated geocachers…what exactly IS geocaching?  Well, per the website:  Geocaching is a high-tech treasure hunting game played throughout the world by adventure seekers equipped with GPS devices. The basic idea is to locate hidden containers, called geocaches, outdoors and then share your experiences online. Geocaching is enjoyed by people from all age groups, with a strong sense of community and support for the environment.

I have found about 54 caches around our neighborhood and as far away as Jack’s Lake in remote Ontario Canada.  It’s a fun way to explore new parks and locations close to home and far away!

Caches range in size from a tiny metallic screw at the base of a mailbox to a breadbox.

This one was a small one affixed by a magnet to the backside of a

park bench.

Prepared Girl, our daughters and I usually go out hunting on Football days–its’ better to be away from the house when the Patriots play…I’m just sayin’

We are not always successful–but when we do not find our sought after cache, we usually return another day to give it one more try.  We recently found this one (second attempt) guarded by a scary spider!

Which reminds me:  it’s important to have some basic geocaching tools including gloves, sticks, dentist’s mirror, long poke-y tool thing, wipes and bandages!  We have used all of these items.  And, I must give proper credit to Prepared Girl.  As in the Jesuisita Trail experience where she had great snacks, sunscreen and water; she is the one with most of these useful apparatuses.

The other side of geocaching is hiding the caches.  I have placed 4 caches.  3 in my neighborhood and 1 at our family cottage in Canada.  I get notices whenever someone finds my cache!  It’s a rush!

My 3 local caches are all Santa Claus themes–this is because I found 3 nesting Christmas cookie tins at the Thrift shop!  I loaded each up with gadgets, a log book and a golf pencil.  Geocachers from around the world have signed the log.  The planet is a very small place indeed.  If you decide to try it out, here are the codes for my caches:

GC1YY5B,

GC22WK2

GC1YK06

GC1WFGY

Let me know if you find any of them!  And, please tell me about your caches!  I’d love to search them out.

In the meantime, I have completed reading Bel Canto, which I loved.  I place this in my Top 10 books–for some reason it really resonated with me.  I began Cutting For Stone today.  No reviews just yet.

No new recipes this week…I experimented with left over chicken, zucchini ribbons, bacon, boursin cheese and onions…sounds good on paper, but it really didn’t deliver.

Next week will be tied up with preparing for our Annual Artisan Boutique at the Santa Barbara Montessori School.  I’ll be selling pottery, jam, scarves, bookmarks and hand crafted cards.  It’s on Friday (11/19/10)  from 9am-4pm, so if you’re looking for one-of-a-kind gifts for the holidays, this should be your first stop!

 

Leave a Reply

