Cdnpearly's Blog

Pearl's musings

Snow Day–Santa Barbara Style February 22, 2011

When I moved here years ago I stated, “If I NEVER see snow again, it will be too soon.”  I still stand by that vow.  However, my 9-year-old feels differently.  So, when it snowed in the mountains we took a drive to find it for her.

It appeared that many mountains had snow–these were too far off for us.  We only drove about 15 minutes from our home till we found enough of the white stuff.

Our Canadian dog had never experienced snow so we took him with us.  He seemed curious and entertained by it.  Perhaps he’s  actually meant to be an arctic hunting dog, since he blends into the snow so perfectly!

As you can imagine, snow in this area is a novelty, so the twisty narrow roads up the mountains were packed with cars and trucks doing precisely what we were doing!  The snow near the road was trampled and nasty, so we parked ventured “off-road” into the chaparral and virgin snow.  The girls roamed ahead to find the perfect ambush location.  They stocked up on snowballs and lured us into their trap.

Success!

 

Looking out the opposite direction: a breathtaking view!  Santa Barbara, Chanel Islands and the shimmering Pacific Ocean.  Just another day in paradise!

 

 

 

 

 

 

Snow:  done for another 16 years!  Turns out I still don’t miss it!

 

Updates:  Gophers are waking up from the winter.  I’ve seen evidence of the devils too close to my Passion Fruit vines.  Traps are set…awaiting some happy results!

Books:  I recently finished the Josephine Bonaparte series.  The final book is The Last Great Dance On Earth.  I loved this series!  So interesting, so gripping, so believable…I plan on reading more by Sandra Gulland (Canadian incidentally).  Currently I’m re-reading Water For Elephants–which I thoroughly enjoyed the first time through.

 

Recipe of the week:  Success!  I made a wonderful beef stew in my pressure cooker.  Using almost 2 pounds of boneless chuck roast meat from Dey Dey’s Best Beef Ever, some potatoes and carrots and onions and beef stock (plus  a few other things) the stew was ready in just a little over an hour with a lovely gravy on the side.  If you haven’t tried a pressure cooker, I can’t recommend it enough.  It’s not like the scary ones your mom used–no rattling, hissing, metal top thingy; no worry of the beets exploding all over your kitchen; no nightmares of 1st degree burns from scalding hot liquid…the new models are push button, contained, with many safety features.  They are so efficient and fast…think of it!  A full pot roast with all the sides ready in an hour!  If you are interested in the full recipe, comment me and I’ll happily send it to you.

Over and out till the next time!

 

 

One Response to “Snow Day–Santa Barbara Style”

  1. Thank you! I’m so pleased you loved Josephine B.!


Leave a Reply

