Cdnpearly's Blog

Pearl's musings

There’s something about Iris… April 18, 2011

‘Tis the season for Iris…There is something magical about these flowers.  It seems like they just shouldn’t be, they are so beautiful and fragile and fleeting and complex…

This year has been very successful for my iris.  Perhaps it’s the 162% precipitation we’ve enjoyed so far this year, or the warm/cool temperature cycles, or the TLC that my dad recently provided, but the Iris are spectacular right now!

We recently visited the Santa Barbara Botanical Gardens.  It’s peak spring flower viewing throughout this wonderful place.  I did not realize that there are native California Iris.  A wide variety of colors and sizes, in fact.  This white one was spectacular.

The beans I planted a month ago are nicely sprouted and up about 2″.  Dad set up a chicken wire barrier to keep those friendly bunnies at bay.  Tomatoes are also thriving.

The roses are blooming too.  As are the columbines…

Unfortunately my creative cooking has been on hiatus while the garden explodes and my parents visit…as has my book reading.

Dad, Lisa, Ellen and I did attend a presentation at UCSB last week:  Rebecca Skloot, author of The Immortal Life of Henrietta Lacks–one of my new favorite books.  In a word:  riveting!  I found Rebecca’s presentation to be just as compelling as her book.  If you haven’t read this book yet, I recommend it.  If you get a chance to hear Rebecca speak, I suggest you go hear her!

I am currently re-reading Cutting For Stone.  I am enjoying it just as much as the first time through.  I believe I should add this one to my new favorite list as well!

In addition to all the gardening and sewing my folks did during their “holiday” with us, my dad called a square dancing party!  I rounded up 16 courageous souls to give it a whirl!  So we dos-y-dos’ed, a la main left, grand chained, ducked for the oyster for several energetic fun-filled hours!  My pedometer was off the charts that night!

Alison and Dad do the gaie gordons here (left).  Jeff and Erica are promenading?!

The Lower Elementary Classes of Santa Barbara Montessori School also enjoyed an afternoon of square dancing.  Left and right can be down right tricky for youngsters!

So, that’s a wrap for this week.  I’ll leave you with a few more photos of the amazing spring flora and fauna (the orioles have returned!):

And a final one of my folks and me at the Gardens…

 

5 Responses to “There’s something about Iris…”

  1. Thalia Says:

    Such gorgeous flowers! I have been reveling in the irises in my neighborhood, as well. One of my favorite scents from childhood was a neighbor’s yellow irises. Mmm!

  2. Ellen Says:

    Very nice flower pictures! Maybe you should throw a photography party for us novice picture takers in addition to jam making!

  3. dad Says:

    Dear Cheryl (Pearl)
    you caught many beautiful sights at the Botanical Gaerdens as well in your own. I think mom and dad got a bit over exposed but it was a lot of fun. Look forward to seeing you in the summer.

  4. Beth Ann Says:

    Those are such beautiful pictures!!! I love them!! Thanks for sharing!!!

  5. Erica Says:

    Great flower pictures!
    And… my 15 minutes of fame! 🙂


Leave a Reply

